Video of D-Day 80 Proclamation - Thursday 6th June - 8.00am

At 8.00am this morning, Councillor Phil Exton, Mayor of Malmesbury accompanied by the Deputy Mayor, Councillor Stephen James, Town Clerk Claire Mann and the Mace Bearer Stephen Caygill, honoured the 80th anniversary of D-Day with a special proclamation outside Malmesbury Town Hall.
A small crowd gathered to witness the proclamation which included Rev. Oliver Ross, Councillor Gavin Grant, Councillor Lesley Crawford-Price, members of the Royal British Legion and Malmesbury Veterans.
This tribute will acknowledge the valiant Allied forces who initiated Operation Overlord by storming the beaches of Normandy, a pivotal act that ultimately led to the liberation of Paris.
Their bravery and sacrifice will be remembered in this solemn commemoration.
Don't forget to come along to Cuckingstool Mead this evening from 8.00pm for further celebrations and the lighting of the Beacon at 9.15pm.

You can view a short video via a YouTube Channel -

Or via our Facebook Page -





Local stories in and around the Malmesbury area to keep you up-to-date.


A wonderful place to visit with a wealth of attractions right on the doorstep.


MALMESBURY is a vibrant, market town, steeped in history going back to medieval times. Currently home to many famous & popular musical, cultural, and festival events throughout the year, visitors can browse the charming streets with independent retailers, or stop at one of the lively cafes, restaurants, pubs, and bars.

Attractions to visit include the stunning 12th century Malmesbury Abbey, 15th century Market Cross and the Athelstan Museum with a painting of Malmesbury Abbey by JMW Turner. There are also lovely walks along the River Avon.



Town Hall, Cross Hayes, Malmesbury, Wiltshire SN16 9BZ

The Council Office is open for Council business from 9am until 5pm Monday to Thursday & Friday 9am to 4.30pm, except for Bank Holidays.

Please call us on 01666 822143, or visit our contact page here to contact a specific councillor or member of the council staff directly.