### **Malmesbury Town Council**

# Minutes of the **Annual Council Meeting**Held at via 'zoom' on **Tuesday 5**<sup>th</sup> **May 2020** at 7.00pm.

PRESENT: Councillors: S D'Arcy, P Exton, C C Doody, L G Grant, C Hardwick, W Jones,

K Power, D Rogers, C Ritchie, P Smith, And F Vandelli

Town Clerk, Deputy Town Clerk.

**ALSO PRESENT:** There were no members of the public present.

**APOLOGIES**: Cllr J Exton

**DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST:** None.

**PUBLIC QUESTION TIME: None** 

### 1. To receive apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received by Cllr J Exton.

2. To elect a councillor to serve as Town Mayor for the Civic year 2020/21 It was proposed by Councillor Vandelli, seconded by Councillor Doody, and RESOLVED that Councillor C Ritchie be elected to the office of Town Mayor for the Civic Year 2020/2021. There were no other nominations received.

Mayor Ritchie expressed his appreciation for the Councils support. He also paid tribute to Cllr Exton whilst in office as Mayor and this was supported by the Council.

Mayor Ritchie stated his focus would be on to ensure Council services, welfare and support for the community, particularly more vulnerable residents, and support for local businesses. Mayor Ritchie recognised that going forward was going to be a challenge for the Council in responding to the impact of Covid 19.

Mayor Ritchie announcement to planned dates; 20.3.21 Mayors Ball, and 16.4.21 Council End of Term Celebration.

Mayor Ritchie announced his chosen Charities would be HEALs of Malmesbury, and Malmesbury Civic Trust.

#### 3. To elect a councillor to serve as Deputy Town Mayor for the Civic year 2020/21

It was proposed by Cllr Doody, seconded by Cllr Vandelli that Cllr Power be Deputy Mayor.

It was proposed by Cllr Jones, seconded by Cllr Hardwick that Cllr Smith be Deputy Mayor.

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Smith be elected to the office of Deputy Town Mayor for the Civic Year 2020/2021.

## 4. To appoint councillors to serve on the committees of the Town Council for the Civic Year 2019/20.

The Council considered Councillors preferences for Committees, and the following Appointments were **RESOLVED**;

#### **Planning & Environment Committee**

Cllr D'Arcy, Cllr P Exton, Cllr Hardwick, Cllr W Jones, Cllr C Ritchie, Cllr D Rogers

#### **Community & Town Promotion**

Cllr J Exton, Cllr S D'Arcy, Cllr C C Doody, Cllr G Grant, Cllr C Hardwick, Cllr K Power, Cllr C Ritchie, Cllr F Vandelli

#### **Town Hall & Facilities Committee**

Cllr S D'Arcy, Cllr C C Doody, Cllr J Exton, Cllr P Exton, Cllr G Grant, Cllr W Jones, Cllr P Smith, Cllr F Vandelli

#### **Burial Committee**

Cllr P Exton, Cllr W Jones, Cllr C Ritchie, Cllr P Smith, Cllr F Vandelli

# 5. To adjourn the meeting whilst committees meet for the selection of Chairs and Vice Chairs.

Mayor Ritchie adjourned the Council in order for meetings of the Planning & Environment, Town Hall & Facilities, Community & Town Promotion and Burial Committees, to take place. Following the election of Chairs and Vice Chairs to those Committees Council was reconvened.

**RESOLVED** that the following Councillors are appointed as the following Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Committees;

**Planning & Environment Committee:** Chair: Cllr P Exton, Vice- Chair: Cllr D Rogers.

**Town Hall & Facilities Committee:** Chair: Cllr G Grant, Vice- Chair: Cllr S D'Arcy.

Community & Town Promotion: Chair: Cllr Vandelli, Vice- Chair: Cllr Power.

Burial: Chair Smith, Vice- chair Cllr Ritchie.

#### 6. To appoint councillors to serve on the Policy and Resources Committee.

Consideration was given to the appointment of Councillors to the Policy & Resources

Committee. The Mayor reminded the councillors that four of the seats on that Committee were allocated to the Chairs of the Service Committees of the Council. and held by those councillors whilst in those respective roles. It was also noted that the Council had previously agreed to appoint the Mayor to one of the seats.

The councillors holding those seats by virtue of their being elected Mayor, or Chairs of committees, were identified as being Cllrs C Ritchie, P Exton, G Grant, P Smith, and F Vandelli.

Cllrs C Doody and J Exton (by proxy Cllr P Exton) withdrew their preferences to serve on the Committee.

The three remaining Councillors with an expressed preference to serve on the Committee were Cllrs D'Arcy, Jones, and Power.

**RESOLVED** that Cllrs D'Arcy, Jones, and Power be appointed to the Policy and Resources Committee.

The Committee then considered and elected the Chair and Vice Chair of the Policy and Resources Committee.

**RESOLVED** that Cllr Jones be appointed as Chair, and Cllr Grant be appointed as Vice Chair, of the Policy and Resources Committee.

#### 7. To appoint councillors to represent the Town Council on outside organisations

**RESOLVED** The following Council representations;

Wiltshire Association of Local Councils – Cllr W Jones, and Town Clerk.

Market Town Forum – Cllr Power and Town Team (if minded).

**Malmesbury Conservation Group** – Cllr Ritchie

**Malmesbury and District Community Transport** – referred to Policy and Resources Committee for consideration.

Malmesbury Town Team – Cllr Ritchie

**Malmesbury and District Twinning Association** – Cllrs C Doody, and J Exton (Cllr Jones abstention).

Operational Flood Group - Cllr C Hardwick

**Community Area Transport Group** – Cllr P Exton

Local Youth Network Management Group - Cllr F Vandelli

**Movies in Malmesbury** – referred to the Town hall and Facilities Committee (due Impact of Covid 19)

Malmesbury Climate Action Network (Inc. Malmesbury Against Plastics) – referred to Policy and Resources Committee.

Athelstan Statue Project Group - Cllr C Ritchie

Date of next Full Council Meeting: 19.5.20